Institutional Background

Konkan region comprising of Ratnagiri, Sindhudurg, Raigad, Thane and Mumbai districts of Maharashtra state, is a hilly terrain. Though region is blessed with natural beauty and rich natural bio-diversity, it is lacking in various facilities as the villages are situated in the remote places.

In 1957, Hon. Govindraoji Nikam, Founded Sahyadri Shikshan Sanstha at  Sawarde with an objective to provide the primary as well as secondary education to the children from these remote villages. In 1958, the first secondary school was started at Sawarde and  now in 2011,  Sahyadri Shikshan Sanstha is running 05 Primary Schools, 33 Secondary Schools and 05 Junior Colleges in different remote villages of Ratnagiri district.

Beside the primary and secondary education, the rural youth from this region    was required to be trained in different fields in order to create self-employment and trained manpower for various industries / companies. For this Hon. Govindraoji Nikam started first I.T.I. on non grant basis in 1984 at Sawarde imparting   technical education in different trades viz. Fitter, Electrician, Motor Mechanic, Welder, Diesel Mechanic, A/c Mechanic etc. Further in 1985 a polytechnic was started with an approval from AICTE, New Delhi, M.S.B.T.E., and Govt. of Maharashtra Providing diploma in Engg. in following trades.

  1. Mechanical Engg.
  2. Civil Engg.
  3. Automobile Engg.
  4. Computer Engg.
  5. Information Technology
  6. Electronics & Telecommunication Engg.

In 1984, College of Pharmacy (poly) was also started at Sawarde with an approval from AICTE, PCI, and DTE providing the diploma in Pharmacy.                   (D.Pharma)  and in 2004, Degree college of Pharmacy providing B. Pharm. degree was started  with an approval from AICTE, PCI and DTE (MS).

During last 25 -30 years thousands of students from these Institutes have completed their Degree/ Diploma and are at the service of society through their own entrepreneurships, Govt. or private jobs.

College of Education

Previously, there were only two Govt. colleges of education in Ratnagiri District leading to the Diploma in education (D.Ed.) and Bachelor of Education (B.Ed.).  About 120 students were passing out every year.  However, at that time the need of teachers in this district was so large. Considering this situation, Sanstha started Rajabhau Redij Adhyapak Vidyalaya, (D.Ed.) in 1984 and B.A. Alias Bhaisaheb Sawant Adhyapak Mahavidyalay in 1985 at Sawarde.  Hundreds of youth from this region got trained and employed in different schools as a teacher

Sahyadri Shikshan Sanstha is also running successfully the Senior  College of Arts providing the degree (B.A. )( 2001), School of fine arts (1993) importing the education leading to the diploma in sculpture & modeling, painting, Art Master   and Foundation.

Sahyadri College of Hotel Management & Tourism for the degree B.Sc. (Hospitality), College of Computer Education providing the degree B.Sc.(I.T.) and B.C.A..  All these degree / diploma courses are affiliated to University of Mumbai.

Recently in 2011, Sanstha has started Sahyadri Institute of Management Studies & Research providing the P.G. education in Management (M.B.A.) for the graduates in different fields from this region. It is affiliated to Mumbai University, DTE, & Approved by AICTE.

Division of Agriculture

The farmers from Konkan region are poor as they are small farmers having scattered land holdings resulting in lower production.  In order  to transfer the advanced  Agril. Technology to the farmers of this region, uplifting the standard of living by maxim sing the production, it is important to create the trained manpower in the fields of Agriculture, Horticulture, Food Technology and Bio-technology.

Sahyadri Shikshan Sanstha is having a large campus of about 300 acres at Kharawate and Dahiwali villeges of Chiplun tahsil.  On this campus different colleges viz.

  • S.P.College of Horticulture (B.Sc. Hort.) (2001)
  • S.P.College of Food Technology (B. Tech.) (2003)
  • S.P.College of Agriculture (B.Sc. Agril.) (2006)
  • College of Agril. Biotechnology.( (B.Sc. Agri. Biotech.)  (2010)
  • D.G. Tatkare School of Agriculture Technology (Dip. in Agri.)  (1987) are running successfully and are affiliated to Dr.B.S. Konkan Krishi Vidyapeeth, Dapoli, Dist- Ratnagiri. At Kharawate-Dahiwali different agricultural projects are being operated.
  1. Cultivation of fields crops.
  2. Horticultural Plantations
  3. Nursery
  4. Dairy & Poultry Unit
  5. Goat
  6. Mushroom Production
  7. Vermi Composting
  8. Swavlamban Kendra (Integrated Framing concept)
  9. Herbal Garden
  10. Coconut nucleus seed garden
  11. Fruit and vegetables processing unit
  12. Bakery Unit

These agriculture activities are being useful for the students as well as the farmers, farmwomen, and rural youth of this region as the demonstration units.  In order to train them, various training programs are also conducted

Besides education, Sahyadri Shikshan Sanstha,  Sawarde is also involved in various social, health and Agril. activities for the benefit of the society.